Elk River, MN – The Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association today named Tommy Thorn of St. Michael-Albertville High School as Mr. Minnesota, 2014. He is a four-time state champion, finishing his stellar career with a record of 199 wins and just 6 losses.

Members of the selection committee stated that Minnesota’s senior class once again provided a very deep pool of candidates, with several multiple-time state champions graduating this season. Candidates are considered based on their performance over the course of their careers, as well as how they present themselves both on and off the mat.

Click Here: Cheap France Rugby Jersey

Thorn was dominant this season, capping his career with a state championship at 126 pounds, while accumulating a record of 49-0. He is currently listed in the top five high school wrestlers in the nation, according to the most recent Intermat rankings, and has signed with the University of Minnesota to wrestle next season.

Tommy Thorn, Saint Michael-Albertville. Photo by Mark Beshey.

MWCA Mr. Minnesota Wrestlers:
2014 – Tommy Thorn, St. Michael-Albertville
2013 – Jake Short, Simley
2012 – Michael Kroells, Scott West
2011 – Matt Kelliher, Apple Valley
2010 – Dylan Ness, Bloomington Kennedy
2009 – Kevin Steinhaus, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg
2008 – Jake Deitchler, Anoka
2007 – Zach Sanders, Wabasha-Kellogg
2006 – Mike Thorn, Saint Michael-Albertville
2005 – Nate Matousek, Glencoe-Silver Lake
2004 – Charlie Falck, Apple Valley
2003 – Eric Sanders, Wabasha-Kellogg
2002 – Jeff Pfaffinger, Blue Earth Area
2001 – Marcus LeVesseur, Bloomington Kennedy
2000 – Nate Baker, Jackson County Central
1999 – Jacob Volkmann, Battle Lake-Underwood-Henning
1998 – Luke Becker, Cambridge-Isanti
1997 – Chad Erikson, Apple Valley
1996 – Dan Duncombe, St. Michael-Albertville
1995 – Jon Fitzgerald, Martin County West
1994 – Chad Kraft, Heron Lake-Okabena-Lakefield
1993 – Brandon Howe, Totino Grace
1992 – Brandon Paulson, Anoka
1991 – Chad Nelson, Stewartville
1990 – Chad Carlson, Willmar

Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Awards